In 1756 the Leipzig city architect and businessman Johann Caspar Richter commissioned the construction of a summer palace – the Gohliser Schlösschen. Richter’s architecture, the interior design of the building and the orangery wings that enclose the structure at both ends make the palace a fascinating example of Saxon baroque architecture. In 1998 the palace was reopened after a complete restoration. The beautiful country house is one of the main attractions of the city of Leipzig. Guided tours take place regularly in this princely atmosphere and some rooms are used as a restaurant and café.
The palace garden with its statues and the fountain is the last remaining garden of the once prestigious Leipzig garden culture of the bourgeois Baroque. Visitors to the “Musenhof am Rosenthal” meet famous names all around – Friedrich Schiller, Robert Schumann and Johann Ludwig Gebhard von Alvensleben.
In 1793, the splendid building became the property of the city of Leipzig by will. The von Alvensleben family bought it in 1832. Above all, the owners in the 19th century did not allow any major changes due to the value consciousness of this time. After the renovation in 1998, however, much of the architecture’s originality became visible again. The palace complex today enjoys a special reputation as the municipal court of muses. In addition to exhibitions, concerts and readings, visitors are also offered an exquisite setting for receptions, weddings, funeral services and galas.
The Monument to the Battle of the Nations in Leipzig
The Leipzig Völkerschlachtdenkmal was opened in October 1913 and is located in the southeast of the city. It was erected to commemorate the Battle of the Nations near Leipzig in 1813, which was led and won by the allied troops of Austria, Prussia, Sweden and Russia against Napoleon and his allies. Due to the devastating battle with over one hundred thousand dead and its consequences for the Leipzig region, the idea for a memorial was already born a year later, in 1814. Due to a lack of financial resources, it took another hundred years to get the memorial as it is today can be visited, was opened.
The Völkerschlachtdenkmal in Leipzig is one of the city’s most famous landmarks and, with a height of ninety-one meters and a width of three hundred meters, is one of the largest monuments in Europe. A total of five hundred steps lead to a viewing platform which, depending on the weather, allows an excellent view of the entire Leipzig region. Directly in front of the actual monument is the so-called “Lake of Tears”, an artificially created pond, which is supposed to embody the tears of the mourners for the victims. Concerts and events take place regularly in the monument, which is also affectionately known by the people of Leipzig as “Völki”, and it is also known for its excellent acoustics.
Why is it worth visiting?
A study or private trip to the Völkerschlachtdenkmal in Leipzig is always worthwhile, because only here you have the opportunity to learn more about one of the bloodiest battles in human history at the original historical location. From the outside as well as from the inside, the dome building enthroned on the Hall of Fame is an impressive and unique sight. The monument counts over three hundred thousand visitors annually, making it the most visited landmark in the region.
Baroque jewel between Leipzig and Dresden
Hubertusburg Palace is a German baroque palace in Wermsdorf in the northern Saxony district between Leipzig and Dresden. The castle was built in two longer construction periods from 1721 and was initially used as an electoral Saxon hunting castle. It was also the secondary residence of August the Third, Elector of Saxony and King of Poland. Today, on the one hand, a specialist hospital is operated on the spacious property, and on the other, Hubertusburg Castle enjoys many visitors due to its special architecture and its unique castle park.
The main building, the actual Hubertusburg Palace, is located in the center of the large ensemble of buildings, which has a varied history of different uses. This varied history of use is reflected in the arrangement and equipment of the buildings. The main building consists of three floors of pilaster architecture. The main building as well as numerous ancillary structures show many aspects and characteristics of the actual use as a hunting lodge. The leaping deer, which serves as a wind vane, is one of them, the child angels executed in stucco lustro, some of which show hunting problems, serve as a further example. Architecture fans will also find pleasure in the castle chapel, the Wermsdorfer Tor and the rococo cartridges in the windows in the main building.
Varied castle park
The spacious castle park has also been used time and again with different priorities in the course of history. Nowadays, the spacious garden and park landscape invites you to stroll and linger.
Peace talks and the Amber Room
The Hubertusburg Peace Talks have been taking place every year since 2006, as part of which the Hubertusburg Youth Peace Prize is awarded. At the end of the 1980s, a previously unknown cellar was discovered that made headlines for the castle in connection with the Amber Room. However, an actual find could never be confirmed.